An Evening With Belafonte/Makeba

lsp3420.jpg (19850 bytes)

LP mono RCA LPM3420
LP stereo RCA LSP3420
LP RCA 740.650 (France)
LP Victor: SHP5477 Japan

Reel to reel tape FTP-1308

CD COL-CD-2843
CD: ND89871
Sam Brown, guitar, Eddie Diehl, guitar, Marvin Falcon, guitar, Ernie Calabria, guitar, Jay Berliner, guitar, William Salter, bass violin, John Cartwright, bass violin, Auchee Lee, percussion, Solomon Ilori, percussion, Chief Bey, percussion, Ralph MacDonald, percussion, Percy Brice, percussion

A1 Train Song (Mbombela)- Xhosa HB/MM (1) 3:08
A2 In The Land Of The Zulus  (Kwazulu)-Zulu MM (1) 2:30
A3 Hush, Hush (Thula,Thula) -Zulu HB 3:03
A4 To Those We Love (Nongqongqo) -Xhosa MM 2:15
A5 Give Us Our Land (Mabayeke) - Zulu HB 2:27
A6 Ndodemnyama Verwoerd! -Xhosa MM 2:05
B1 Gone Are My Children (Baile Banake) - Sotho HB 2:47
B2 Hurry, Mama, Hurry! (Khawuleza) -Xhosa MM 3:25
B3 My Angel (Malaika) -Swahili HB/MM (1) 3:12
B4 Cannon (Mbayi, Mbayi) - Zulu MM 2:47
B5 Lullaby (Thula Sthandwa Same) -Zulu HB 2:46
B6 Show Me The Way, My Brother (Iph'Indlela) - Zulu HB 3:10

Although Harry Belafonte had known Miriam Makeba since 1958, this was the first time he had chosen to record with her (other than the brief duet on "One More Dance" on the Returns to Carnegie Hall album). Through his efforts as a world ambassador (both politically as well as musically), Belafonte acquainted himself with many performers from other countries. He became a consistent champion of these artists; without him, Americans would have no doubt never heard of Miriam Makeba, Nana Mouskouri, Letta Mbulu, or Hugh Masekela. This collection of songs from Africa are sung in the dialects of the Zulu, Xhosa, Sotho, and Swahili peoples. It is too bad that complete translations are not included in the album, only brief summaries on the rear liner. Belafonte writes passionately in the notes (his second) of his commitment to the South African liberation movement and to the fulfillment of his association with Makeba, now South Africa's most revered songstress. Again, only two out of twelve songs are actually sung by Belafonte and Makeba, the rest are solo performances.
~ Cary Ginell, All Music Guide