Paradise In Gazankulu

LP: EMI 746971-1
CD: EMI 07777-46971-2


A1 We Are The Wave # 3:32
A2 Paradise In Gazankulu # 4:27
A3 Skin To Skin # (duet w. Jennifer Warnes) 4:25
A4 Amandla # 4:05
A5 Kwela # (Listen To The Man) 4:00
B1 Monday To Monday # 4:14
B2 Global Carnival # 3:43
B3 Capetown # 3:58
B4 Sisiwami (Sweet Sister) # 4:49
B5 Move It # 4:57

Musicians in total:
Alex Acuña (percussion), Bobby Allende (vocals), Jose Alves (guitar), Francis Bonny (trumpet), Sharon Brooks (vocals), John Cartwright (vocals), Neil Clarke (percussion), Alistair Coakely (guitar), Richard Cummings (keyboards), Christopher Dlathu (bass guitar), "Stompie" Themba Dlzmini (guitar), Brenda Fassie (vocals), Ricky Ford (tenor sax), Morris Goldberg (saxophone), Dick Griffin (trombone), Jake Holmes (vocals), Ralph Irizarry (vocals), Selina Khoza (vocals), Bakithi Kumalo (bass guitar), Vusi Khumalo (drums, vocals), Denny Laloutte (bass guitar), Lemmy "Special" Mabaso, (saxophone), Jean Madubane (vocals), Marks Makwane (guitar), Debbie Malone (vocals), Richie Marrero (keyboards, vocals), Ronnie Martin (vocals), David Masondo (vocals), Laurence Matshiza (guitar, vocals), Babakar Meaye (percussion),  Thembile Michael Masoka (bass guitar), V. Mkhize (guitar), Mduduzi Mlangeni (keyboards), Maxwell "China" Mngadi (guitar), Joseph Mokwela (bass guitar), Lucky Monoma (drums), Sicelo Ndlela (bass guitar), Youssou Ndour (percussion), José Neto (guitar), Grace Ngobeni (vocals), Jane Ngobeni (vocals), Oben Ngobeni (guitar), Dumisane Ngubeni (keyboards), Moses "Crocodile" Ngwenya (keyboards),  West Nkosi (pennywhistles), Marilyn Nokwe (vocals), Tu Nokwe (vocals), Bongani Nxele (drums), Victor Paz (trumpet), Hilton Rosenthal (keyboards, guitar), Chi Sharpe (percussion), Deborah Sharpe (vocals), Ty Stevens (vocals), Assane Thiam (percussion), Carlos Ward (alto sax), Jennifer Warnes (vocals), Wilmer Wise (trumpet)

In 1988, Harry Belafonte turned 61 years old. After releasing exactly one album of new material in fifteen years, Belafonte showed the world that he still had enough in him to issue a collection of vital, exciting music with a point of view. The cause that triggered this creative explosion was South Africa's apartheid system. Long an advocate of black sovereignty in the country, Belafonte combined anger, defiance, and pride in this invigorating selection of songs, recorded in Johannesburg and featuring South African artists such as Brenda Fassie and Youssou N'Dour. The wry, cynical humor in protest songs such as the title track, "Move It" and "Kwela (Listen to the Man)" hearken back to similarly constructed political songs from the West Indies. This album jumpstarted Belafonte's stalled recording career and was released along with concert videos of Belafonte and a variety of African recording artists supported by Kodak's home video division. Unfortunately, Belafonte has not been seen in the recording studio since.
~ Cary Ginell, All Music Guide